��LAST 5 ENTRIES��

Cut, cut. - 2007-02-09

No, really... how are YOU? - 2006-10-23

And now, finally: something (ish) - 2006-07-27

What Happened to March and April, eh??? - 2006-04-25

Well hello there, February. - 2006-02-16

previous - next

 



< L DykeWrite3 # >

2003-04-09 - 7:48 p.m.

Reciprocation is a beautiful thing.

seriously.

in life, in love.... and in snacks.

yesterday, about this time, my girlfriend/same-sex partner/meal-ticket/lesbian lover was in her office, across the hallway from me, when I heard her start to fidget and make her way into the kitchen. Literally moments later, she appeared in the doorway of my office carrying 4 perfect orange slices. Ripe, fresh and chock-full of vitamin c. I devoured them, the way a hungry girl might at the end of a long day, not yet ready to commit to dinner, or even something vaguely resembling dinner. It was a superswell snack and very thoughtful.

So, cut to tonight... about the same time, coincidentally... but now you have ME. In my office, across the hallway from my girlfriend in her office, busily editing some footage. I can hear her... tap, tap, tapping away. Occassionally giggling at something she's shot. It hits' me: reciprocation.

I tip-toe out of my office and make my way into our kitchen. I carefully, gently and lovingly (okay, who am I kidding- quickly and dangerously) cut up an orange, placed it on a bounty "pick your size" paper towel (I obviously tore too quickly, as the size I chose was a bit too small to carry 4 orange slices) and sashayed (?) my way down our hallway and into her office with, you guessed it, the aforementioned reciprocal orange slices.

To say she was tickled would be an understatement. She was thrilled. She rejoiced. They came just in time. She was parched and needed a pick-me-up.

She thanked me with a sloppy, pulp-filled kiss and I went on my way.... feeling full of that "hey, I just reciprocated" sorta thing.

Now I know what that movie, PAY IT FORWARD was all about.

Thank you Kevin Spacey, Helen Hunt, Haley Joel Osmend.... and Sunkist.

I just payed it forward.