��LAST 5 ENTRIES��

Cut, cut. - 2007-02-09

No, really... how are YOU? - 2006-10-23

And now, finally: something (ish) - 2006-07-27

What Happened to March and April, eh??? - 2006-04-25

Well hello there, February. - 2006-02-16

previous - next

 



< L DykeWrite3 # >

2003-05-09 - 7:44 p.m.

Quick update for all y�all as I spent waaaay too much time on the accompanying graphic (see above) and now I�ve run out of time for my actual entry (style over substance; substance over style). And now I�ve spent 3/4�s of a paragraph detailing how late I am and how I won�t have time to write the actual update/entry and here we are at almost a full paragraph now and I�ve yet to begin with word one of the actual entry yet. I exhaust myself. I EXHAUST myself in such a way that I�m sure I, personally would never pass one of those smog tests. That�s how hard I EXHAUST myself. I�d go to one of those SMOG TEST centers connected to a gas station, they�d put me up on one of those platforms, connect the machinery to me, and sure enough, the levels of self-exhaustion (not to mention the 2nd party exhaustion I cause) would insure certain failure of� the �what the F am I talking about� Smog Test.

Anyway, yesterday my girlfriend/same-sex partner/lady-lover/roommate/meal-ticket and I took a lickety-split/quick as a really-quick thing DAYTRIP down to Palm Springs. The occasion was to check out a new/old extra/extra/extra vacation/weekend house just purchased by our super-most excellent and also lady-lovers pals.

We checked out the house (Cool, 50�s, Fresh!) and then decided to take a trip into town and see what was up.

���We were 4 Lezzie�s out looking for trouble� and we found it!���

It was dusk (and mid �70�s) and a STREET FAIR was in full swing. Glee! Delight! Crowds!

They shut down the main drag (hi rupaul) and put up hundreds (may be exaggerating) of booths (such as):

�Things made of Cheese that shouldn�t be� (example: Clocks)

�Shriners just sitting there with their legs wide open�

�Your name on a grain of rice�

�Pack your own (not THAT kind of packing) bath salts�

�Nuts� of all kinds�

�Photo with a Rabbi�

�Puppets�. Really scary puppets�

�Things you�d need if you went to the Renaissance Faire�

�Bad Art made by Greedy People�

�Bad Ceramics made by People out of touch with the economy�

�Bad Jewelry made by People who have no concept of color, size, shape or trends�

And FOOD, every type of food� most of them on a stick, and none of the servers wearing hairnets.

(Long standing PERSONAL issue #3,652): Eating food prepared or served by a street vendor/cart-situation or person who SHOULD be wearing a hairnet but isn't)

Now, the citizens of the fine city of Palm Springs run quite a spectrum. From Hipster/Modern Enthusiasts (Gay & Straight) to Swingers (Gay & Straight) To Retired Folks (Gay & Straight) To Avid Golfers (Gay & Straight) to Lots&Lots&Lots of Tourists (Gay & Straight)�. And they were all on the street last night, let me tell you.

And all of them were buying up the stuff and eating food on a stick and listening to creepy �musicians� Think: Vangelis or Yanni� and all of it taking place in a balmy/windy gorgeous evening in Palm Springs.

Burning Question that still haunts me:

Why are Men with Elephentitis drawn to wearing shorts?

I�m so late. Goodnight!!