��LAST 5 ENTRIES��

Cut, cut. - 2007-02-09

No, really... how are YOU? - 2006-10-23

And now, finally: something (ish) - 2006-07-27

What Happened to March and April, eh??? - 2006-04-25

Well hello there, February. - 2006-02-16

previous - next

 



< L DykeWrite3 # >

2005-10-12 - 12:55 p.m.

It�s been TWENTY EIGHT DAYS.
As if. As if I�m going for some sort of record.
�Diaryland Celibacy� or something. Ish.

Well, I�m not and I haven�t.

Just OY-VEY-BUSY with the doing and the projects.

Let�s see if we can catch up a bit. Or at least waste several paragraphs trying.

There is NO REAL WAY to catch up. I know this. It maddens me. Each time I think about getting my ass over here and updating, I�m daunted by the sheer size of the task. �How can I ever fill them in, or at least share enough so that it was worth clicking?� That�s right, I want you to get your �didn�t pay a dime� moneys worth. So, the idea of �putting out a bowl, and you thinking it�s gonna be CHICKEN NOODLE SOUP, but once you reach out, and pull it towards you, then peer inside, you�ll see it�s only BROTH.� Sickens me. Freezes Me. Broth. No chicken. No Noodles. No carrot or celery parts. Not even a seasoning flake. Just broth.

So, it�s with that �FEAR OF BROTH instead of the whole amazing CHICKEN NOODLE SOUP� that I�d always like it to be�disclaimer firmly in place that I will now continue. You�ve been warned.

We�ve been touring (or I should say our film has) to MANY, MANY Film Festivals this summer and early Fall. The audiences have loved it, and the Q&A sessions have been filled with great, heartfelt questions. I love being a part of telling a compelling story and making people think.

Most recently we attended a festival and the Festival Director was soooooooooooo enthusiastic and truly dear� problem was, they paid too much attention to certain details (making sure all the filmmakers AUTOGRAPHED several programs�) but not to, say� making sure all the projection equipment was adequate. Needless to say, the screening we attended was �dampened� by the fact that the films were projected in� black and white. We have several poignant moments in our film where the emotional �cue� is marked by CHANGING THE FOOTAGE FROM COLOR TO BLACK AND WHITE. This particular audience didn�t get to see that, but loved it anyway. So� what do you do, eh? We didn�t mention it to the crowd (why �dis� the festival people in front of their audience� not cool) but wished it could have been different. Double sigh.

Other than that, we�ve had some great screenings, wonderful crowds and enthusiastic festival programmers all saying very nice things about the film. Even two write-ups in a local paper, highlighting our film and saying it may �steal the festival�. So, yeah. GOOD TIMES there.

Been listening to some good tunes lately, including some songs from DOLLY PARTONS NEW ALBUM OF COVER SONGS. One of the songs she covers is �If you were a carpenter and I was a lady��

I�ve now decided that if My AMAZING Girlfriend/Same-Sex Partner/Lady Lover/Meal Ticket/Hot-Hottie and I were to ever be placed in a FORCED KARAOKE situation, THIS is the song I�d like us to perform. As a duet. We�d rock the house. I�ll keep you posted.


Let me now WHOLEHEARTEDLY RECOMMEND an AMAZING BOOK by a friend of ALL WE LADIES� this CHICK kicks ass.

Her book is funny, heartwarming, irreverent and will fill you with good vibes.

CHECK IT OUT!


Alright, I guess it�s time.

I have a script to finish. Oy. Whenev.

You all� be good to yourselves.

More soon.

Xoxoxo ME