��LAST 5 ENTRIES��

Cut, cut. - 2007-02-09

No, really... how are YOU? - 2006-10-23

And now, finally: something (ish) - 2006-07-27

What Happened to March and April, eh??? - 2006-04-25

Well hello there, February. - 2006-02-16

previous - next

 



< L DykeWrite3 # >

2003-04-21 - 2:20 p.m.

This is my grandmother in 1928 at the age of 16. This is one of the ways I like to remember her.

Today is the 2 year anniversary of her death.

Of her emancipation from the 88 year-old body that no longer served her well.

Her freedom from Ahlzheimers.

Her best chance to leave a second husband who considered her a burden.

Her opportunity to re-join the first husband who cherished her above all else.

The arrival of the Taxi that would take her once and for all back to be with her parents who she missed so much. To go back home.

Today I visited their headstones (cause, come on, THEY aren't there) and I sat there on a picnic blanket with my beloved best friend/same-sex partner/emotional-support/strength of all strengths and we wept. We wept because we missed her (and my wonderful grandfather who went away 20 years before her).

My beautiful grandmother was so happy for me that I had found someone to be with.

She loved my girl. My girl loved her.

My girl helped me change my grandmothers diaper. More than once. Can you imagine?

She helped me throw a 85th birthday party for my grandmother that was a LUAU... and it rained, and we did it anyway... in the rain.OUR FRIENDS came, (all the ladies) and we LUAU-ed in the rain to celebrate my beautiful grandmother's 85th birthday. She loved it. She Don Ho'd the evening away.

Today is the 2 year anniversary of my grandmother beginning the eternity-long trip on a most amazing all-inclusive cruise with her husband and parents. She must be having the time of her life.

I love you.... and miss you....

xoxoxo