��LAST 5 ENTRIES��

Cut, cut. - 2007-02-09

No, really... how are YOU? - 2006-10-23

And now, finally: something (ish) - 2006-07-27

What Happened to March and April, eh??? - 2006-04-25

Well hello there, February. - 2006-02-16

previous - next

 



< L DykeWrite3 # >

2004-06-26 - 3:42 p.m.

Hey Y�all,

Welcome Back.

So many things to catch up on and I�m not sure if I�ll be able to control the FLOW or the PACE of how it all comes out (shouldn�t they have a PILL for that?) so I�m gonna just get started.

First of all, THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH for your BIRTHDAY WISHES and notes and emails and guestbook signings (and E-cards� wow for FLASH ANIMATION,eh?)

It was all MUCH APPRECIATED and I was all MISTY-EYED and �aw-shucks-y� to My AMAZING Girlfriend/Same-Sex Partner/Lady-Lover/Meal Ticket/Wonder-Woman about all your individual and collective� ongoing KINDNESSES. So, yeah� thanks.

Speaking of MY BIRTHDAY, I soooooooo OWE YOU all a FULL REPORT, which, just so you can play along and be in THE ZONE� you should grab a COWBOY HAT and line up the TEQUILA SHOTS.

I�ll wait while you do that.

((NOTE- Approx Time elapsed- 7 minutes� while you searched for the required items, then declared �screw it�, then sat back down at your computer screen))

So, ANYWAY�It was my FORTIETH (40th) BIRTHDAY (I told y�all that, right?) and what I really wanted was an old-fashioned WESTERN HO-DOWN. I don�t know why� I just did.

So, of course, My AMAZING Girlfriend/Same-Sex Partner/Lady-Lover/Meal Ticket/Wonder-Woman made it happen (as she always does). Cut to: Bales of Hay/Rented Tables & Mood Lighting and we had turned the place into a BACKYARD HONKY TONK like the Hills of Hollywood were beggin� fer.

You get the picture, right?

I insisted/demanded/required ALL MY FRIENDS dress up WESTERN-STYLE and NOBODY disappointed. The guests arrived in all their country-costumed glory, and they fell right into character� and the night was all about YEE-HAWING & HOWDY-ING.

I hired a Caricature Artiste` (Hello Google) and he turned out to be a friendly, charming fellow, and a fine human being� HOWEVER�. Apparently �actually having the pictures LOOK LIKE the subjects� is either NOT HIS STRONG POINT, or against his personal OLD-SCHOOL ways..or both. The fact that the RENDERINGS did NOT RESEMBLE my friends (in some cases TERRIFIED them) only added to our fun� and yet everyone very graciously KEPT THAT FACT on the DOWN LOW, as we didn�t want to �DIS� the ELDERLY ARTIST-FELLA, as he was now apart of the MAGIC that was the HO-DOWN.

Please see a random sampling of a small percentage of of the drawings, and take my word for the fact that these do NOT look like my peeps.

The LADIES (there were LOTS of LADIES� as there always is) and a hand full of men� make up this amazingly WONDERFUL POSSE of FRIENDS that I�ve been blessed with (as I�ve gone on and on and on about in the past) were in TOP FORM and the yee-hawing continued ECHO-ING thru the HILLS. We fed them BBQ (and BBQ-related side dishes for the VEGANS) and the BEVERAGES WERE FLOWING.

Lots (and LOTS) of TEQUILA SHOTS were transacting (it was a CELEBRATION, but still� no excuses� ) and then we were all PRIMED for the COUNTRY LINE DANCING.

Did I mention the COUNTRY LINE DANCING? Okay�along with the THEME� I thought I�d force my friends to learn (along with me) how to COUNTRY LINE DANCE. Why not, right? So, of course my AMAZING Girlfriend/Same-Sex Partner/Lady-Lover/Meal Ticket/Wonder-Woman located an INSTRUCTOR (I�ll call her Miss Kitty, as I can�t remember her name� but she was a LEZZIE in her late 50�s�and VERY OLD-SCHOOL COUNTRY-WESTERN(ish). She was the COUNTRY LINE DANCE INSTRUCTOR equivalent to a DOMINATRIX. She ran us through the steps, then would order us to show her what we learned� then onto yet another set of steps and moves and �heel/toe/twirls�. YEE-HAW!

Okay, I�ll admit it�to round out the evening of ENTERTAINMENT, I rented a DEEEE-LUXE KARAOKE MACHINE. Nothing quite says �Happy 40th� like a group of Lezzies singing �The Night The Lights Went Out in Georgia� or �It�s Raining Men�. A favorite duet involved Our �Go-Go Boy/Pole Dancer� ummm �Rod� and our very own �Lucky� (of �Lucky and The Homewrecker�� remember her? She�s doing much better now) singing �You Don�t Bring Me Flowers�. I�m sure THEIR RENDITION blew away the version that BARBARA & NEIL performed at the John Kerry fundraiser the other night. Uh oh.... that reminds me:

-------------------------- ohhhhhhhhhhh....ELECTIONS and POLITICS (and I usually don�t do this)�

SEE THIS MOVIE.

If you are of VOTING AGE� VOTE. Register and VOTE.

Oh. My. God.

We must DO SOMETHING.

If you can�t afford to go see this movie� send me an email and I�ll BUY YOU TICKETS. Seriously. It�s important.

End of POLITICAL SPEECH (ish).

----------------------------- Back to BIRTHDAY ROUND UP--- needless to say, My friends ROCK� the PARTY kicked-country-ass� and we�ve still got a few bales of hay in the backyard, which look surprisingly good beneath the backdrop of a BLUE SKY and PALM TREES.

Since the Birthday, we�ve been hard at work on FILM STUFF (getting ready for festivals, etc). If you are in LOS ANGELES,CA� PHILADELPHIA,PA or DURHAM, NC�. Our film will be screening in a festival in your area. That ROCKS, right? I�ll keep you posted on our progress (more festival acceptances) and reports of how all the screenings go, etc.

In the meantime, I�ve started on the NEXT SCRIPT and have an August 1st deadline for it. Let�s see how I do with THAT.

Here�s the part where I ramble about how WONDERFUL my AMAZING Girlfriend/Same-Sex Partner/Lady-Lover/Meal Ticket/Wonder-Woman is� and how she inspires me to want to do more. I couldn�t love her more� even if it was legal.

And you� you all. Your continued reading of THIS, visiting THIS PLACE� and sharing of YOUR stories and lives via emails or on your own diaries/blogs/whatevah is pretty bitchin and MUCH APPRECIATED�

Be GOOD to YOURSELVES.

Xoxoxo Me