��LAST 5 ENTRIES��

Cut, cut. - 2007-02-09

No, really... how are YOU? - 2006-10-23

And now, finally: something (ish) - 2006-07-27

What Happened to March and April, eh??? - 2006-04-25

Well hello there, February. - 2006-02-16

previous - next

 



< L DykeWrite3 # >

2004-07-28 - 3:51 p.m.

Uh oh.

Yep.

That's me.

Flat, on my ass (if you will), after having FALLEN OFF of the NO DIET COKE wagon.

(again).

What brought it on, you ask?

Uh oh.

Rejection.

That's right, you heard me.

Here we were, like something out of the "it's too good to be true" part of a Lifetime Television for Women Movie.... everyone loves us... the film is getting great attention and.... then.... Rejection.

I feel it's only fair to SHARE THE REJECTION with you kids so you see how it REALLY works... it's NOT "all good/all the time".

Sooooooooo, here's the thing: On SATURDAY (the day I fell--no wait--make that JUMPED off the "No Diet Coke" Wagon) We received not one, but TWO "we regret to inform you that your film has NOT been chosen to be included in our festival.... blah blah..." emails. Two. The Olsen Twins of Rejection. Sucks. Majorly. Dude.

Right. So, I immediately felt: sad, sad, lonely, sad, dark, sad, loser-ish thoughts and drove to the nearest 7-11 and bought myself a tanker-truck sized DIET COKE.

Then, within moments of my return home, with the devils juice flowing in my veins, I calmly sat at my computer and within the confines of a one page, single-spaced Microsoft Word document was able to put all that SADNESS into perspective and turn it around and make it less sad.

Praise be to my Therapist(ish) who has obviously brain-rinsed me enough into figuring out a way to reduce the self-loathing within minutes of take-off. It was a whirlwind tour through PATHETIC-LAND and the things I thought and said in those first few minutes... OY.... but I replaced THOSE THOUGHTS with Folgers Crystals and the realization that THE BIG PAIN OF REJECTION I was feeling AT THAT MOMENT was probably about ALOT MORE than just these particular rejections. Probably more along the lines of... say.... the REJECTION OF WHEN MY MOTHER LEFT THE FAMILY or...er.... other more intense things like that.... SO... yeah.

So, NOW... we've been (i'm sorry, The Film has been) REJECTED TWICE (their loss) and we'll move forward and wait for MORE PEOPLE TO LOVE US (or reject us) and.... learn to receive news like that in a less painful way (or not).

Thanks for playing along in the classroom of life with me. This concludes todays lesson.

(p.s. can you IMAGINE what it's like to live with a NIGHTMARE like me? Try not to. Oy. But, indeeeeed..... my Girlfriend/Same-Sex Partner/Lady-Lover/Meal Ticket is the most amazingly PATIENT and cute girl-lovin'-girl EVER)

xoxoxo More soon/Me